PAASCU’s 53rd General Assembly

PAASCU held its first virtual General Assembly with the theme “Promoting Quality in the Time of Disruption” last November 27, 2020. Approximately 1,100 from member schools participated virtually including those who watched the live broadcast on the official Facebook page of the Association. Fr. Joel E. Tabora, President, gave the opening remarks and introduced PAASCU’s 23 Standards of Quality Practices as a guide in the quality assurance of institutions and programs. This was followed by concurrent sessions on “Promoting Quality in Non-Traditional Teaching-Learning Modalities” by Dr. Miguel Q. Rapatan, a member of the CHED Technical Working Group for Flexible Learning, and on “Leading a School in a Time of Disruption” by Fr. Jonathan R. Domingo, OMI, President of Notre Dame of Midsayap College, and “Transforming Teaching and Learning in the Time of Disruption” by Dr. Jasper Vincent Q. Alontaga, Director of Academic Support for Institutional Services and Technology of the De La Salle University. The morning session ended with the announcement of the PAASCU Board of Trustees election results and awarding of the Fr. James J. Meany, SJ to accreditors who have served for at least 10 accreditation visits; Bro. H. Gabriel Connon, FSC Hall of Fame to accreditors who have served for 100 accreditation visits; and Loyalty Service Award to PAASCU employees. The afternoon was dedicated to the meeting of the various PAASCU Commissions where attendees had the chance to nominate new Commission Members and to discuss in-depth the 23 Standards of Quality Practices.