PAASCU 2023 General Assembly

PAASCU held its 66th general assembly last November 21, 2023, with the theme “PAASCU in the light of EDCOM II.”

Dr. Karol Mark Yee, Executive Director of the Second Congressional Commission on Education (EDCOM II), and Dr. Cynthia Rose Bautista, Member of the EDCOM II Advisory Council for Academe and Former Vice President for Academic Affairs of the University of the Philippines, were this year’s keynote speakers. Dr. Yee shared the rationale beyond EDCOM II and its Priority Areas. Dr. Bautista focused on establishing an Internal Quality Assurance (IQA) and how this complements External Quality Assurance (EQA).

The afternoon session was dedicated to the awarding of the 2023 Fr. James J. Meany, SJ awards to accreditors who served in many survey visits, the Loyalty Service Awards to PAASCU employees, and a plaque of appreciation to Saint Louis University College of Medicine for the valuable work extended to PAASCU during the World Federation of Medical Education visit that earned for PAASCU a WFME Recognition Status for ten years. The recognition program was followed by the announcement of the newly appointed PAASCU Board of Trustees.

In the afternoon, parallel workshops were conducted. The Basic Education workshop focuses on measuring Learning Outcomes, which was led by Dr. Marie Therese Angeline Bustos, Member, EDCOM II Early Childhood Care and Development and Basic Education. The workshop for Higher Education is on operationalizing IQA Systems in Higher Education, led by Dr. Cynthia Bautista and Dr. Lucila Calairo, Chair of the PAASCU Commission on Tertiary Education.

The event was held in the Manila Marriott Hotel with 670 attendees.